Flint Hills - John Morrison

Flint Hills

The Kansas Flint Hills, formed by the erosion of Permian-age limestones and shales, extend from Marshall County, in the north, to Cowley County, in the south, and are known as the Osage Hills in Oklahoma. Named for the embedded bands of chert, or flint, the Flint Hills region is one of the last great preserves of tallgrass prairie in the country. —Kansas Geological Survey


© 2002-2018 JOHN D MORRISON

Powered by SmugMug Log In
Cottonwood Falls Concert

Cottonwood Falls Concert

Cottonwood Falls is county seat of Chase County. Completed in 1873, the iconic Second Empire courthouse is the oldest county courthouse still in use in Kansas. The Friday evening scene shows the weekly jam session in front of the Emma Chase Cafe. June 11, 2010.

Flint HillsChase CountyCottonwood Falls